
STATE OF MINNESOTA 

IN SUF’REME COURT 

01-81-1206 
C8-84-1650 
C4-91-1728 

ORDER AMEM)ING THE RULES 
OF THE SUPREME COURT FOR 
REGISTRATION OF ATTORNEYS AND 
THE RULES OF PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT 

The Minnesota State Bar Association and Lawyers Concerned for Lawyers filed a joint 

petition to amend the Rules of the Supreme Court for Registration of Attorneys and the Rules of 

Professional Conduct, and 

The Minnesota Supreme Court held a hearing on these proposed amendments on 

December 15, 1999, and 

1. 

The court has reviewed the proposed amendments and is fully advised in the premises, 

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED: 

The attached amendments to the Rules of the Supreme Court for Registration of 

Attorneys and the Rules of Professional Conduct are adopted, prescribed and 

promulgated to be effective July 1,200O. 

2. The inclusion of comments to the amended rules is made for convenience and does not 

. reflect court approval of the comments made therein. 

Dated: April K ,200o 

BY THE COURT: 

OFFICE OF 
APPELLATE COURTS 

APR 1 S 2000 

FILED 

A- &,-. 
Kathleen A. Blatz 
Chief Justice 



THE RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT FOR 
REGISTRATION OF ATTORNEYS 

RULE 2. REGISTRATION FEE 

A. In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigation for admission to the 

bar and disciplinary proceedings, over and above the amount paid by applicants for such 

admission, with exception hereafter enumerated, each attorney admitted to practice law in 

this state and those members of the judiciary who are required to be admitted to practice 

as a prerequisite to holding offrce shall hereinafter annually pay to the clerk of the 

appellate courts a registration fee in the sum of 6 

@XUXUXQ Two Hundred and Fifteen ($21500)or in such lesser sum as the court may 

annually hereafter determine. 

Such fee, or portion thereof, shall be paid on or before the first day of January, April, 

July or October of each year as requested by the clerk of the appellate courts. All sums so 

received shall be allocated as follows: 

$20.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners 

$10.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education 

$110.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board 

$17.00 to the Minnesota Client Security Fund 

$50.00 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee 

$8.00 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program. 

An attorney who certifies that his or her gross income from all sources, excluding the 

income of a spouse, is less than Twenty-five Thousand Dollars ($25,000.00) per year, 

shall pay a registration fee in the sum of /Snp One 

Hundred Ninety Dollars ($190.00). The allocation to the Legal Services Advisory 

Committee shall be reduced by Twenty-Five Dollars ($25.00), 

B. The following attorneys and judges shall pay an annual registration fee of Qne 

Q One Hundred Nine Dollars ($109.00): 

(a) Any attorney or judge whose permanent residence is outside the State of 

Minnesota and who does not practice law within the state; 
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(b) Any attorney while on duty in the armed forces of the United States. 

Thee One Hundred Nine Dollars ($109.00) so 

received shall be allocated as follows: 

$20.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners 

$7.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education 

$24.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board 

$50.00 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee 

$8.00 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program. 

An attorney who certifies that his or her gross income from all sources, excluding the 

income of a spouse, is less than Twenty-five Thousand Dollars ($25,000.00) per year, 

shall pay a registration fee in the sum of e Eighty-four Dollars 

($84.00). The allocation to the Legal Services Advisory Committee shall be reduced by 

Twenty-Five Dollars ($25.00). 

C. Any attorney who has not been admitted to practice for more than three years shall 

pay an annual registration fee of w One Hundred and Four 

Dollars ($104.00). 

The m One Hundred and Four Dollars ($104.00) so received 

shall be allocated as follows: 

$20.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners 

$10.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education 

$24.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board 

$17.00 to the Client Security Fund 

$25.00 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee 

$8.00 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program. 

An attorney who certifies that his or her gross income from all sources, excluding the 

income of a spouse, is less than Twenty-five Thousand Dollars ($25,000.00) per year, 
3 



RULES OF PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT 

RULE&~ REPORTINGPROFESSIONALMISCONDUCT 

(a) A lawyer having knowledge that another lawyer has committed a 
violation of the Rules of Professional Conduct that raises a substantial 
question as to that lawyer’s honesty, trustworthiness or fitness as a lawyer in 
other respects, shall inform the Office of Lawyers Professional 
Responsibility. 

(b) A lawyer having knowledge that a judge has committed a 
violation of applicable rules of judicial conduct that raises a substantial 
question as to the judge’s fitness for o&e shall inform the Board on Judicial 
Standards. 

(c) This Rule does not require disclosure of information that Rule 
1.6 requires or allows a lawyer to keep confidential or information gained by 
a lawyer or judge while participating in a lawyers assistance program or 
other program providing assistance, support or counseling to lawyers who 
are chemically dependent or have mental disorders. 

Comment: U?& 2000 

Self-regulation of the legal profession requires that members of 
the profession initiate disciplinary investigation when they know of a 
violation of the Rules of Professional Conduct. Lawyers have a similar 
obligation with respect to judicial misconduct. An apparently isolated 
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shall pay a registration fee in the sum of S 

Ninety-one Dollars and fifty cents ($91.50). The allocation to the Legal Services 

Advisory Committee shall be reduced by Twelve Dollars and fifty cents ($12.50). 

Any attorney who is retired from any gainful employment or permanently disabled, or 

who files annually with the clerk of the appellate courts an affidavit that he or she is so 

retired or disabled and not engaged in the practice of law, shall be placed in a fee-exempt 

category and shall remain in good standing. An attorney claiming retired or permanently 

disabled status who subsequently resumes active practice of law shall promptly file notice 

of such change of status with the clerk of the appellate courts and pay the annual 

registration fee, 



. 
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violation may indicate a pattern of misconduct that only a disciplinary 
investigation can uncover. Reporting a violation is especially important 
where the victim is unlikely to discover the offense. 

A report about misconduct is not required where it would 
involve violation of Rule 1.6. However, a lawyer should encourage a 
client to consent to disclosure where prosecution would not substantially 
prejudice the client’s interests. See the comment to Rule 1.6. 

If a lawyer were obliged to report every violation of the Rules, 
the failure to report any violation would itself be a professional offense. 
Such a requirement existed in many jurisdictions but proved to be 
unenforceable. This Rule limits the reporting obligation to those offenses 
that a self-regulating profession must vigorously endeavor to prevent. A 
measure of judgment is, therefore, required in complying with the 
provisions of the Rule. The term “substantial” refers to the seriousness of 
the possible offense and not the quantum of evidence of which the lawyer 
is aware. A report should be made to the bar disciplinary agency unless 
some other agency, such as a peer review agency, is more appropriate in 
the circumstances. 
judicial misconduct. 

Similar considerations apply to the reporting of 

The duty to report professional misconduct does not apply to a 
lawyer retained to represent a lawyer whose professional conduct is in 
question. Such a situation is governed by the rules applicable to the 
client-lawyer relationship. 

Information about a lawyer’s or judge’s misconduct or fitness 
may be received by a lawyer in the course of that lawyer’s participation in 
a bona fide lawyers assistance program or other program that provides _. assistance, support or counseling to lawyers, including lawyers and 
judges who may be impaired due to chemical abuse or dependency, 
behavioral addictions, depression or other mental disorders. In that 
circumstance, providing for the confidentiality of information obtained 
by a lawyer-participant encourages lawyers and judges to participate and 
seek treatment through such programs. Conversely, without such 
confidentiality, lawyers and judges may hesitate to seek assistance, which 
may then result in additional harm to themselves, their clients, and the 
public. The Rule therefore exempts lawyers participating in such 
programs from the reporting obligation of paragraphs (a) and (b) with 
respect to information they acquire while participating. A lawyer 
exempted from mandatory reporting under part (c) of the Rule may 
nevertheless report misconduct in the lawyer’s discretion, particularly if 
the impaired lawyer or judge indicates an intent to engage in future 
illegal activity, for example, the conversion of client funds. See the 
comments to Rule 1.6. 
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